HabsWorld.net -- 

Around the league on Tuesday, teams have been announcing the nominees for the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy as voted on by the local chapter of the Professional Hockey Writers Association (PHWA).  Shea Weber was voted as Montreal’s candidate for the award.

Weber had battled significant injuries over the past two seasons but worked his way back to missing only six games this year due to an ankle injury.  He played through that for the rest of the season which likely helped earn the captain the nomination from Montreal’s PHWA chapter.  Overall, he played in 65 games this season, leading all Montreal blueliners with 15 goals and 21 assists.

The trophy is awarded to the NHL player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey and is named after the late Bill Masterton who passed away in January of 1968 following a game while playing for Minnesota.  It was first handed out in that 1967-68 season.

A total of five Habs have previously won the award.  They are:

Max Pacioretty (2011-12)
Saku Koivu (2001-02)
Serge Savard (1978-79)
Henri Richard (1973-74)
Claude Provost (1967-68)