HabsWorld.net -- 

Just 3 days after an exciting end to the Stanley Cup Finals, the NHL announced its award winners on Thursday evening.  Three members of the Stanley Cup Champion Tampa Bay Lightning went home with awards, as Martin St. Louis, Brad Richards, and John Tortorella all took home awards.  St. Louis took home the Hart, Pearson, and Art Ross trophies, while Richards took the Lady Byng and Tortorella won the Jack Adams.


Hart Memorial Trophy: awarded to the player judged to be the most valuable to his team


Nominees – Martin Brodeur (NJ), Jarome Iginla (CAL), Martin St. Louis (TB)


This season, Martin St. Louis scored 38 goals and added 56 assists to lead the NHL in points.  St. Louis was a key factor in Tampa’s success this season.  With great speed to compensate for his lack of size, he emerged as a budding star in the league.  He has come a long way since he was left un-drafted and then released by the Calgary Flames.


Vezina Trophy: awarded to the goalkeeper adjudged to be the best at this position


Nominees – Martin Brodeur (NJ), Roberto Luongo (FL), Miikka Kiprusoff (CAL)


Martin Brodeur was awarded his second career Vezina trophy, despite a shaky end to the 2003-2004 season.  He finished the year 38-26-11 record, while posting a 2.03 goals-against average and a .917 save percentage.  He also added 11 shutouts.  He becomes the first player to capture back-to-back Vezina trophies since 1998 and 1999, when Dominik Hasek won his 4th and 5th Vezina trophies.


James Norris Memorial Trophy: awarded to the defenseman who demonstrates throughout the season the greatest all-round ability in the position


Nominees – Zdeno Chara (OTT), Scott Niedermayer (NJ), Chris Pronger


Niedermayer won the Norris for the first time in his 12-season career.  He was 2nd in the NHL among defenseman this season, netting 14 goals and adding 40 assists for a total of 54 points.  He was also strong in the defensive zone, as he was a +20 for the season.  He also average more than 25 minutes of ice time per game.


Calder Memorial Trophy: awarded to the player selected as the most proficient in his first year of competition in the National Hockey League.


Nominees – Trent Hunter (NYI), Andrew Raycroft (BOS), Michael Ryder (MON)


In a fine rookie season, Raycroft was 29-18-9, with a 2.05 goals-against average and a .926 save percentage.  His stats were very similar to those posted by Vezina winner Martin Brodeur, an impressive feat for a rookie.  Many did not expect him to make the Bruins out of camp, and even fewer expected him to take over the starting role.  He responded well, leading his team to a 2nd place finish in the Eastern Conference.


Lady Byng Memorial Trophy: awarded to the player adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability


Nominees – Daniel Alfredsson (OTT), Brad Richards (TB), Martin St. Louis (TB)


In the regular season, Richards netted 26 goals and added 53 assists, while picking up only 12 penalty minutes in 82 games.  Richards emerged as an excellent player this year, especially in the playoffs.  He has also been named to Canada’s World Cup team.


Frank J. Selke Trophy: awarded to the forward who best excels in the defensive aspects of the game.


Nominees – Kris Draper (DET), John Madden (NJ), Alan McCauley (SJ)


While scoring 24 goals and adding 16 assists, Draper also excelled in the defensive end of the rink, notching a +/- rating of +22.  He was a key member of the Red Wing penalty killing units, which were the best in the NHL, killing off 86.8% of power plays. 5 of his goals were scored while shorthanded.


Jack Adams Award: awarded to the NHL coach adjudged to have contributed the most to his team’s success


Nominees – Daryll Sutter (CAL), John Tortorella (TB), Ron Wilson (SJ)


Tortorella wins the Jack Adams, after being named a finalist for s second straight season.  He coached the Lightning to their best season in team history, posting a 46-22-8-6 record for 106 points.  Since becoming head coach of the Lightning, the team has seen steady improvement, culminating with a Stanley Cup this season.



Lester B. Pearson Award: Awarded to Martin St. Louis, the National Hockey League’s outstanding player as selected by the members of the NHL Players’ Association.


Art Ross Trophy Awarded to Martin St. Louis (TB), who led the NHL in points with 94.


Maurice Richard Trophy: Awarded to Jarome Iginla (CAL), Rick Nash (CBJ), and Ilya Kovalchuk (ATL).  Each scored 41 goals, leading the NHL in that category.

King Clancy Memorial Trophy: Awarded to Jarome Iginla (CAL), the player who best exemplified leadership qualities on and off the ice and has made a noteworthy humanitarian contribution in his community.

William M. Jennings Trophy: Awarded to Martin Brodeur (NJ), the goalie who played a minimum of 25 games for the team with the fewest goals scored against it.

Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy: Awarded to Bryan Berard (CHI), the player who best exemplified the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to hockey.